Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Handball - Super 8 reclaim men’s league title |15 October 2019

Handball - Super 8 reclaim men’s league title

SUPER 8 …. 2019 men’s league champions

Super 8 are back as men’s league winners after collecting a 36-32 victory against defending champions Durantha Brothers in a rescheduled match last Saturday at the Palais des Sports.

It had been three years since Super 8 had last won the Mohan Shopping Centre-sponsored league title in 2016 prior to Saturday’s triumph in the decisive encounter which was originally scheduled for September 28, 2019 but was not played after the Palais des Sports became slippery as a result of bad weather.

Super 8 needed a win at all cost to reclaim the title and they achieved it on a 36-32 score to over their three-point difference first-round loss.

As for Durantha Brothers, they were after a third consecutive title and they the least they needed was a draw as they went into the match with an unbeaten record – six wins and a draw – in seven games to lead the five-man league table with 20 points.

As for Super 8 coached by Danny ‘Mathias’ Philoé, they had won six games and lost one, and were second with 19 points.

Super 8 won the title five years in a row ‒ 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 ‒ before AC Brothers dethroned them in 2015. Super 8 returned as champions in 2016.

In fact, it has been a good year for coach Philoé as his women’s team MF Storm also returned as league champions despite losing the decisive match 18-22 against Au Cap Sisters on September 28.

They were crowned league winners due to their superior goal difference on the head-to-head rule.

Both MF Storm and Au Cap Sisters concluded the league on 22 points after seven wins and a loss apiece.

A win would have seen MF Storm being crowned with an unbeaten league run, after they defeated their major rivals 24-17 in their first-round match.

If Au Cap Sisters were to be crowned champions, they needed a win by more than seven goals which did not happen.

MF Storm have won the league crown nine times – in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016.

Speaking to Sports NATION, coach Philoé said: “After two years, my two teams – MF Storm and Super 8 – are back as league champions. This is a very good reward as we worked hard for it. We are now looking forward to the knockout competition.”


G. G.

More news