Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


New acting Mayor appointed |29 March 2023

New acting Mayor appointed

Ms Charlie

The Office of the President has announced that following the recommendations of the members of the Association of the Districts of Victoria, President Wavel Ramkalawan has appointed Lydia Charlie to serve as acting Mayor of Victoria from April 1, 2023 until such time that the legislation has been enacted for the appointment of an elected Mayor.

Ms Charlie has been the executive director in the Office of the Mayor since January 2015 and has a career background in tourism promotion and development.

The post of Mayor of Victoria has been held since January 2017 by David André who is now the Secretary General for SNICHA (Seychelles National Institute for Culture, Heritage & the Arts).  His second term of office as Mayor expired in December 2022.

The Association of the Districts of Victoria comprises the directly elected members of the National Assembly for Bel Air (Hon. Norbert Loizeau), St Louis (Hon. Sathya Naidu), Mont Buxton (Hon. Gervais Henrie), English River (Hon. Andy Labonté), Mont Fleuri (Hon. Michel Roucou), Plaisance (Hon. Richard Labrosse), Roche Caiman (Hon. Audrey Vidot) and Les Mamelles (Hon. Bernard Georges). 



More news