Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Chess: Seychelles-India Day 2019 tournament |21 October 2019

Chess: Seychelles-India Day 2019 tournament

The winners in a souvenir photo

Multiple nationalities at this year’s friendship tournament


Over 70 chess enthusiasts gathered at the multipurpose hall of the Indian High Commission on the third floor of the Maison Esplanade building, on Francis Rachel Street on Saturday to take part in the annual Seychelles-India Day Chess Tournament.

The event, hosted by the Seychelles-India Day organising committee, is part of the activities to celebrate friendship between the two countries.

The interesting thing about this year’s tournament is that there was the involvement of various nationalities, other than Seychellois and Indians.

The tournament was divided into three categories which were the under-14 years old, the under-18 years old and an open group for both male and female players.

In the girls’ under-14 years old group, Roysha Mougal retained her title won last year, finishing ahead of Emmy Marie and Prathiksha Hemanth who were second and third respectively.

In this year’s tournament, Marie has pushed Hemanth down one spot, after finishing third last year behind the latter.

In the same age group for the boys, last year’s runner-up Mohamad Arfan is now the group winner, finishing ahead of Navin Pillay and Steven Dodin.

Darian Dupres who finished third last year in the boys’ under-18 competition has this time moved two steps up to clinch the top prize.

Parthiv Vekariya and Ludovique Nourrice finished second and third respectively.

In the same group for the girls, Elgine Créa bettered her last year’s performance, which was a third-place finish, to win this year’s competition.

Zambian Zacharia Kafuko is this year’s male senior champion, forcing Ragul Pillay to maintain his runner-spot like last year. Filipino Reygene Santillan finished third in the group.

In the women’s competition, Filipino Chua Sheila Mae relegated last year’s winner Jeanne-D’Arc Abel into second position to go home with the top prize.

Last year’s runner-up Rachelle Hoareau finished third overall this time.


Top three finishers in each category

Open male: 1. Zacharia Kafuko, 2. Ragul Pillay, 3. Reygene Santillan

Open female: 1. Chua Sheila Mae, 2. Jeanne-D’Arc Abel, 3. Rachelle Hoareau

Male under-18: 1. Darian Dupres, 2. Parthiv Vekariya, 3. Ludovique Nourrice

Female under-18: 1. Elgine Créa

Male under-14: 1. Mohamad Arfan, 2. Navin Pillay, 3. Steven Dodin

Female under-14: 1. Roysha Mougal, 2. Emmy Marie, 3. Prathiksha Hemanth


R. D.


More news