Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Bodybuilding: Mr Seychelles 2019 |14 October 2019

Bodybuilding: Mr Seychelles 2019

Mr Seychelles 2019 Mervyn Dugasse

Mervyn Dugasse reigns supreme

For years he remained in the shadow of Ziad Mekdachi who turned professional earlier this year, but on Saturday Mervyn Dugasse finally put his hands on local bodybuilding’s most prestigious title to become the new Mr Seychelles.

Runner-up to Mr Seychelles 2018 Mekdachi, Dugasse, who is also holding the bodybuilder of the year title for 2018, claimed the top prize on Friday at the International Conference Centre Seychelles (ICCS).

Hosted by the Seychelles Bodybuilding and Physique Association (SBPA), this year’s Mr Seychelles contest gathered 15 posers who competed in the junior physique, senior physique and senior bodybuilding.

Dugasse finished ahead of Rodney Henriette and Andy Anthony who were second and third respectively.

Fabien Antat finished fourth overall, ahead of Ricky Gertrude and veteran athlete Joelen Valentin.

It did not take a lot to convince the judges’ panel made up of Henry Naiken, Derrick Sauzier, François Ally, Nano Camille and Alexandre Fouche as Dugasse was involved in only three comparison call-outs and it was clear that the judges were looking for a second and third best.

Dugasse received his cup from International Federation of Body Builders (IFBB) pro card holder Mekdachi who was present to bring his support to the athletes.

In the junior physique competition, five athletes were battling for the top prize and it was bodybuilder Ryan Bastienne who impressed the judges.

Bastienne joined the group due to a lack of junior bodybuilders at this year’s competition.

Raj Kowlessur was second overall, finishing ahead of Shane Dodin and Deje Laure who were third and fourth respectively. Hendricko Vidot finished fifth in the group.

Wallace Dorasamy was the grand winner in the senior physique competition, pushing ex-bodybuilder Emanuel Pierre into the runner-up spot.

Diguois Nelson Malvina finished third overall, leaving the fourth and last spot to Keven Mirabeau.

There were also best poser awards in each category and for the senior bodybuilding it was Henriette who had the best choreography, while Dodin clinched the prize in the junior physique category.

For the senior physique, it was once again Dorasamy who stepped forward to claim the prize.

Commenting on the event, SBPA chairman Kishnan Louise said despite the difficulties, hosting the Mr Seychelles competition is proof that the sport still exists and there are still people, both athletes and sponsors who are interested and have it at heart.

Mr Louise further added that the presence of athletes associated to different gyms in the country shows that the common interest is visible even if there is still work to be done in terms of unity and joint effort to push bodybuilding forward.

He also added that the presence of athletes from La Digue is also proof that the sport is on the positive path.

Mr Louise concluded by thanking all the sponsors for their continuous support.


Mr Seychelles 2019 Hall of Fame


Senior Bodybuilding

  1. Mervyn Dugasse
  2. Rodney Henriette
  3. Andy Anthony
  4. Fabien Antat
  5. Ricky Gertrude
  6. Joelen Valentin


Junior Physique

1. Ryan Bastienne

2. Raj Kowlessur

3. Shane Dodin

4. Deje Laure

5. Hendricko Vidot


Senior Physique

1. Wallace Dorasamy

2. Emanuel Pierre

3. Nelson Malvina

4. Keven Mirabeau


Winners of the Mr Seychelles contest over the past 10 years

2009 – Ziad Al Adou Mekdachi

2010 – Nano Camille

2011 – Nano Camille

2012 – No competition

2013 – Ziad Al Adou Mekdachi

2014 – Ziad Al Adou Mekdachi

2015 – Ziad Al Adou Mekdachi

2016 – Ziad Al Adou Mekdachi

2017 – No competition

2018 – Ziad Al Adou Mekdachi

2019 – Mervyn Dugasse


R. D.


More news