Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Cricket: SCA T10 League |30 September 2023

SL United and Spartan Warriors A collect victories

In a thrilling encounter at the Perseverance Grounds, SL United (DIV 1) emerged victorious with a commanding 29-run win over Deevas Kings in a match of the SCA T10 League held last week.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, SL United started their innings with a bang, as the opening pair forged a blistering 46-run partnership for the first wicket. However, their batting fortunes took a sharp downturn, as they lost three quick wickets in succession.

Lahiru Hettiarachchi played a pivotal role in steadying the ship with a blazing knock, contributing 27 runs off just 11 balls, while Lahiru Rajantha chipped in with 21 runs off 13 balls to bolster SL United's tally. Despite the middle-order hiccup, they managed to post a competitive total of 85 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in their allotted 10 overs.

Deevas Kings bowler Shaquib, bowled brilliantly to pick up 2 crucial wickets for just 12 runs in his 2 overs.

Selva Kumar Natarajan provided valuable support, claiming 1 wicket for 8 runs in his 2 overs.

Chasing the target of 86 runs, Deevas Kings found themselves struggling right from the start, experiencing a series of batting collapses. Their innings concluded with a total of 56 runs for the loss of 5 wickets at the end of the stipulated 10 overs.

Deepak Radhakrishnan top-scored for Deevas Kings with 16 runs off 16 balls, while Prabhu remained unbeaten with 13 runs off 12 balls.

 However, their efforts fell short as the SL United bowlers dominated the proceedings.

Thimeera Madusanka led the bowling charge for SL United, delivering brilliant performance by claiming 2 wickets for a mere 12 runs in his two overs. Lahiru Rajantha also made an impact with the ball, securing 1 wicket for just 7 runs in his 2 overs.

In recognition of his brilliant all-around performance, Lahiru Rajantha of SL United was rightfully awarded the "Player of the Match" title, highlighting his significant overall contribution.

In another encounter, Spartan Warriors A, notched up a commanding 7-wicket victory against GSC Global Warriors.

After winning the toss, GSC Global Warriors decided to set the target and took to the crease. They managed to post a total of 62 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in their allotted 10 overs.

The standout performances with the bat came from Nar, who contributed a vital 21 runs off 21 balls, and Durga Prasad, who added 15 runs from 15 balls, helping their team reach a modest but defendable target.

Spartan Warriors A showcased a disciplined bowling performance led by Ruhul Amin, who bowled brilliantly, claiming 1 wicket for a mere 4 runs in his two overs.

Raghu Janagarajan and Ragul Pillay also made crucial contributions, each picking up 1 wicket, ensuring that GSC Global Warriors were restricted to a manageable total of 62 runs.

In pursuit of the target, Spartan Warriors A exhibited their batting prowess by chasing it down convincingly in just 7.4 overs, scoring 63 runs for the loss of 3 wickets. Mohan Spartan A played a brilliant, unbeaten knock of 33 runs off 18 balls, anchoring the innings with skill and composure. Praveen Kumar contributed with 11 runs off 9 balls as well, adding crucial runs to the tally.

GSC Global Warriors did manage to pick up a few wickets during the chase, with Nar, Shiva, and Sahid each claiming 1 wicket, but it wasn't enough to halt the Spartan Warriors A's charge.

Mohan Spartan A's outstanding batting performance earned him the prestigious "Player of the Match" award.

Samith Lakpriya

More news