Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Football: Cosafa Women Under-17 Championship |20 September 2019

Seychelles team leave today


The Seychelles female under-17 team leave the country today for Mauritius to take part in the Council of Southern African Football Association Women’s Under-17 Championship in Port Louis, starting today until September 29.

Coached by Vivian Bothe, the Seychelles team have been drawn in group B alongside South Africa, Botswana and Madagascar. Host nation Mauritius are in group A alongside Comoros, Uganda and Zambia.

As part of their preparation for the competition, the team followed a two-week training camp in Normandy, France where they also played some test matches.

Head coach Vivian Bothe told Sports NATION that although they have worked a lot on playing strategy during training, he feels the competition is too strong for the young team.

“The young players will be playing three games in five days and they are not used to such a tight schedule. I hope the girls can match the intensity of the matches as they are new to football,” head coach Bothe told Sports NATION yesterday.

“It is going to be a tough competition and we have been drawn against some strong teams. The most important thing to do is try to limit the damage as we know the other teams are very good,” added coach Bothe.

The team’s first game is tomorrow against South Africa before meeting Botswana on Monday September 23. Their third and final group game is against Madagascar on Wednesday September 25.

This is the first time the Council of Southern African Football Association (Cosafa) Women’s Under-17 Championship is being played and matches will be played at the St. François Xavier Stadium in Port Louis and the Mauritius Football Association Technical Centre.

Only eight of the 14 nations that make up the Southern African regional body are taking part. As an associate member, Reunion may also enter tournaments but it has not entered for this championship.

A total of 16 matches will be played – 12 in the first round group stage, two semifinals, a third-place play-off and a final.

The players selected to make the trip are Rannia Chetty, Esther Barreau, Esca Belle, Mikella Savy, Reena Esther, Alisha Matatiken, Avril Ally, Nyrah Nourrice, Kurchia Poris, Jamillah Fanchette, Priia Joseph, Kimbelly Chang Tak Hue, Nelly Larue, Shahana Athanase, Elvina Marie, Anisha Matatiken, Iriny Henriette, Gaelle Morel, Nella Francoise, Esha Henri and Mahasia Labrosse.

Lewis Madeleine is the head of delegation, Vivian Bothe (head coach), Florence Marie (assistant coach), Gracie Narty (medical officer) and Ralf Rose (team manager).

More news