Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Sports Awards of the Year 2023 |02 March 2024

Sports Awards of the Year 2023

The mother of Felicity and of Keddy in a souvenir photograph with President Ramkalawan and Minister Zialor after accepting the trophies on behalf of their daughter and son respectively

Keddy Agnes, Felicity Passon triumph for a second time


By Roland Duval


It is boxer Keddy Agnes and swimmer Felicity Passon who have been crowned Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year 2023, both bagging their second title after being crowned in 2018 and 2019 respectively.

They were both crowned in absentia during the official crowning ceremony held yesterday evening at the Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino.

Last held in 2019, the awards ceremony was making its re-appearance following restrictions on sports activities due to the Covid-19.

Both Agnes and Passon were represented by their mother, with the former being on overseas training, gearing up for the forthcoming 13th African Games scheduled to take place in Ghana between March 8-23. As for Passon she is studying abroad.

Yesterday’s ceremony was graced by the presence of President Wavel Ramkalawan and First Lady Linda Ramkalawan, Vice-President Ahmed Afif, Chief Justice Ronny Govinden, cabinet ministers, high government officials, along with parents, relatives and friends of the athletes.

Judoka Nantenaina Finesse was the runner-up in the male category, while volleyball player Angelique Adeline was second among the female athletes.

Swimmer Simon Bachmann and judoka Dominic Dugasse finished third and fourth respectively, while in the women’s category, volleyball player Maya Biong and karateka Mastura Shah-Faure filled in the spots.

Karateka Richard Ah-Weng was ranked fifth overall, while for the women track and field athlete Natasha Chetty finished fifth overall.

In the youth category, Praslinois windsurfer Jules Kandasamy came out first in the boys’ group, while for the girls it was swimmer Angelina Smythe who topped the ranking.

Northern Tang Soo Do Seychelles karatekas Jishin Jins and Kyan Francourt were second and third respectively in the boys’ group, while for the girls, badminton players Aurelie Jean-Louis and Liana Bedier finished second and third overall.

For the first time, a public choice award was given at the ceremony, and it was long-distance runner Ivan Moïse who won the heart of the public to clinch the inaugural prize.

As for the best sports official for 2023, football referee Hansley Petrousse grabbed the top prize, pushing volleyball referee Michael Ah-Kong and boxing referee John Figaro into second and third places respectively.

Boxing coach Rival Payet was awarded the coach of the year title, finishing ahead of volleyball coach Julien Onezime and karate instructor James Faure.

Other than athletes, coaches and officials, three individuals – Rolly Baker, Jerina Bonne, and Allan Julie – were also honoured for their valuable contributions towards the wellbeing and progression of local sports.

Addressing the athletes, Minister for Youth, Sports and Family, Marie-Celine Zialor, reminded them that rewards and appreciations come with responsibilities, urging them to be role models and inspirations for the younger generation.

She asked them to lend a hand in spreading the good values and disciplines that have helped them to succeed in their sporting career.

Speaking about the ceremony, Minister Zialor explained that there has been a considerable gap from the last one held due to two main reasons.

The sports minister explained that firstly, the local sporting associations and federations were not ready to nominate athletes during the past years since there were not many competitions, with only minor ones held as stepping stones for athletes to bounce back after not being active following the health restrictions.

Secondly, Minister Zialor explained that they did not want to organise the event just for the sake of putting in place a ceremony without any substance, or value.

She also thanked all the athletes for their sacrifices, family members for their continuous support, as well as the coaches and officials for their valuable contributions.

Minister Zialor additionally thanked the government, through President Ramkalawan, for the continuous support and commitment towards the development of sports in the country.


Photos by Louis Toussaint

More news