Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube

National Assembly

National Assembly – seventh cohort |23 February 2024

National Assembly – seventh cohort

The two new members – Anne Simone Bistoquet (left) and Rachel Spiro – taking their oath (Photos: National Assembly)

Two new proportionately elected members sworn in


The National Assembly has two new proportionately elected members as of yesterday.

They are Anne Simone Bistoquet of the Linyon Demokratik Seselwa (LDS) who replaces the late Rosie Bistoquet and Rachel Spiro of the United Seychelles party, who replaces Wilbert Herminie.

The two members – Anne Simone Bistoquet and Rachel Spiro – are new to the seventh cohort and to the National Assembly.

The swearing-in ceremony was the third segment of yesterday’s official re-opening of the National Assembly where the two new members took their oath in front of Speaker Roger Mancienne.

The ceremony preceded the message on the State-of-the-Nation by President Wavel Ramkalawan.

Speaker Mancienne welcomed the two members, wishing them good work and participation, and to serve Seychelles with devotion and honour.

The replacement of MNA is in accordance with Article 81 (1) (h) (i) of the Constitution of Seychelles, which prescribes that a member may cease to be a member of the National Assembly and that the seat occupied by that person shall become vacant, and in this case by the political party nominating another person to occupy the seat by informing the Speaker in writing.


Patsy Canaya

More news