Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Cricket Updates: SCA T10 League – SCA Women’s T10 |26 May 2023

Cricket Updates: SCA T10 League – SCA Women’s T10

Deevas Kings emerge victorious over Patel Youth


The SCA T10 League witnessed yet another enthralling contest as Deevas Kings emerged victorious, defeating Patel Youth by 10 runs in an exciting encounter held at the Persévérance grounds.

After winning the toss, Deevas Kings elected to bat first, and managed to post a total of 59 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in their allocated 10 overs.

Deevas Kings struggled to maintain substantial partnerships throughout their innings as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

However, valuable contributions from Shibu Haridass, who scored an important 16 runs, and Anterpove Tamilarasan, who added 9 runs, helped their team achieve a respectable total to defend.

Prakash Varsani stood out as the top bowler for Patel Youth, claiming an impressive three wickets for a mere seven runs in his two overs.

Naresh Jeshani and Jayesh Varsani also made notable contributions, each picking up 2 wickets for 5 runs and 10 runs respectively, putting pressure on the Deevas Kings' batting line-up.

In pursuit of the target, Patel Youth suffered an early setback, losing their first wicket at just 4 runs.

However, a resilient 30-run partnership for the second wicket between Naresh Jeshani and Hardik Vadodariya revived their hopes.

Unfortunately, after losing the second wicket, Patel Youth struggled to maintain the required run rate, resulting in a loss of momentum. While Naresh Jeshani fought valiantly with a well-played 19 runs off 19 balls, the other batsmen failed to contribute significantly.

In the end, Patel Youth could only muster 49 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their allotted 10 overs.

Deepak Radhakrishnan (c), Prabhu, and Rajeeva Deepa displayed brilliant bowling performances, delivering economical spells that restricted Patel Youth's innings to a mere 49 runs.

Prabhu, from Deevas Kings, deservedly earned the player-of-the-match title for his brilliant all-round performance with both the bat and the ball, contributing significantly to his team's success.


Narayan XI secure emphatic victory over Gran Kaz Lions


In a thrilling women's T10 league encounter held at the Persévérance grounds, Narayan XI secured an emphatic 10-wicket victory over Gran Kaz Lions.

Winning the toss, Narayan XI elected to field first, inviting Gran Kaz Lions to set a target. Gran Kaz Lions managed to post a total of 53 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in their allocated 10 overs.

Throughout their innings, Gran Kaz maintained solid partnerships, losing their first wicket at 25 runs and the second at 50. Chamila Gamage contributed a crucial 18 runs off 25 balls, while Manisha Kanbi remained unbeaten on 13 runs from 19 deliveries. However, the disciplined bowling by Narayan XI prevented the Lions from accelerating their scoring rate, ultimately restricting them to a modest total.

Geetaben Hirani (c) and Manjula Bhudiya led the bowling attack for Narayan XI, picking up a wicket each.

In response, Narayan XI exhibited a flawless batting display, chasing down the target of 54 runs and scoring 57 runs in just 7.1 overs, without losing a single wicket.

Malishini Senarathne emerged as the star performer with her blistering unbeaten knock of 29 runs off 20 deliveries.

Supported by Geetaben Hirani who contributed a vital 14 runs off 26 balls, Narayan XI cruised to victory in commanding fashion.

While Gran Kaz Lions failed to take any wickets, Manisha Kanbi (2 overs for 6 runs) and Hasini Gurusinghe (1.1 overs for 7 runs) bowled economically for their team, striving to defend the modest target.

Malshini Senarathne's exceptional batting performance earned her the well-deserved player-of-the-match award for her pivotal role in guiding Narayan XI to a convincing victory.


Compiled by Roland Duval




More news