Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Swimming: Fina World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships |09 September 2022

Swimming: Fina World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships

Mr Alcindor with the finalists (Photo: Louis Toussaint)

‘Make a splash’ artists get recognised


Eighteen young artists from different primary and secondary schools around the country who took part in the art competition under the theme ‘Make a splash’ were rewarded yesterday during a special ceremony held at the Olympic House at Roche Caïman.

The art competition was organised to commemorate the Fédération internationale de natation (Fina) World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships scheduled to be held between September 16-18 at Beau Vallon.

The different categories for the competition were primary five to primary six, secondary one to secondary two and secondary three to secondary five.

According to the chairman of the event’s organising committee, Alain Alcindor, they received 47 entries, out of which they selected the final 18.

Still according to Mr Alcindor, the final 18 chosen artworks are not being considered competition winners, but rather a way to choose 18 local children to be directly involved with the championships, precisely as medal bearers.

He added that championships should equally serves as motivation for more children to take up swimming as a sports, but most importantly to learn the skill of swimming and be water confident since as an island, we are surrounded by the sea.

Below are the eighteen selected artists.

 Category one – Primary one to primary six: Janavi Andrea, Avantika Dutt (International School), Elty Bonne, Chrissie Barbe, Halmirah Cecile, Rio Banane (Persévérance Primary).

Category two – Secondary one to secondary two: Ishmaelle Lucas (Independent School), Malik Francourt, Nyllah Marie, Indra Bacco (Persévérance Secondary), Samuel Khan (Mont Fleuri Secondary), Lily De Commarmond (Anse Boileau Secondary).

Category three – Secondary three to secondary five: Sanna Farook (Independent School), Sherypha Payet (Persévérance Secondary), Mary Nelle Suzette, Anthoricko Suzette (Praslin Secondary), Ashkas Sekar (Anse Boileau Secondary), Kierra Albert (Beau Vallon Secondary).


 Roland Duval

More news