Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Cricket: MSC / Enjoy Super League T20 tournament |11 May 2022

Cricket: MSC / Enjoy Super League T20 tournament

GSPs 7 - A, Vijay Warriors win this Sunday’s game


Match number 14 of division 2 of the MSC / Enjoy Super League T20 tournament saw GSP 7 - A play Lakstars A last Sunday morning at the Persévérance cricket field.

Winning the toss, GSP 7 - A captain Yakesh Subramanian opted to bat first. A flashing opening partnership of 57 runs from Karthik 47(30) and Selvakumar 18(26) set a strong foundation with contributions from Vivek 33(31), Annith 14(11) and Vijayan 12(12) to help GSP 7 - A score 152/6 at the end of 20 overs.

Lakstars A bowler Bandula P. bowled well, grabbing 3 wickets and conceding 23 runs in 4 overs.

Upon chasing Lakstars A batsmen, Nilan scored a quick 31(11) but failed to continue as the bowlers of GSP 7 - A grabbed wickets at regular intervals. Despite a short cameo by Udara 25(35) and Thushitha 16(20) Lakstars A only managed to score 117/10 by the 20th over and GSP 7 - A won by 35 runs.

GSP 7 - A bowlers Karthik and Annith grabbed 3 wickets each.

Karthik of GSP 7 - A was selected the player of the match for his all-round performance.

In the division 1 match played in the afternoon, Vijay Warriors met Gran Kaz Kings. Winning the toss, captain Byron Paul opted to bat first. Batsmen Tim Horpinitch 43(49), Byron Paul 10(30), Md.Islam 20(17) helped the Kings to a good start, but the batting order toppled and left the Kings with a score of 105 runs at the end of 20 overs.

Vijay's bowlers Lalji and Murji bagged 2 wickets each.

Bowling next, Kings removed Vijay's opening batsmen Krishna Naidoo 4(3) in the very first over of the match. Despite Kings trying to tighten the run scoring, Vijay's batsmen Hanish 24(54), Mukesh 22(18) and Murji 11(9) carried the Warriors to win the match by 1 wicket in the 20th over of the match.

Bowlers Rohit, Rajeev and Tim of the Gran Kaz Kings grabbed 2 wickets each.

Lalji Hirani of the Vijay Warriors was selected player-of-the-match for bowling a magical spell of 4 overs and conceding just 6 runs and grabbing 2 wickets with 2 maiden overs in it.


Contributed by Deepak Radhakrishnan, SCA’s tournament director

More news