Follow us on:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube


Cricket: MSC / Enjoy Super league Lakstars, Quincy Spartan Warriors win |22 April 2022

On Easter Sunday at the Persévérance cricket ground, Lakstars and Quincy Spartan Warriors won their matches in the T20 MSC / Enjoy Super league.

On a hot Sunday morning Lakstars (Div 1) beat GSP 7 (Div 1).

Winning the toss, GSP 7 opted to field first. Batting first Lakstars batsmen Janaka scored 15(16) and Suranga 2(17) and were removed by the GSP's pace attack. But a solid 61-run partnership by Kavinda 24(28), Daminda 23(28) and a short cameo by Thivanka 17(9) paved the way for Lakstars to set up an achievable target of 110 while losing 7 wickets. Kelvin Deso managed to bag 2 wickets conceding 14 runs in 2 overs.

Surprisingly, GSP 7’s batting order collapsed for the second time in this tournament as they managed to score only 77 while losing all 10 wickets. Lakstars bowler Sarath Fernando managed to bag 3 wickets by conceding only 22 runs and was selected as player-of-the-match for his bowling performance.

In the afternoon, in a division 2 match, Quincy Spartan Warriors played against Lakstars A.

Winning the toss, Quincy Spartan Warriors opted to bat first.

Opener Ashwin played a responsible innings by scoring 35(33) despite the batsmen losing their wicket for single digit score. Batsmen Parthiban exhibited a much-needed solid knock by scoring 73 from just 44 balls including 9 fours and 3 sixes and at the end of 20 overs, the Spartan managed to set a tough target of 169. Bowlers Nadisha and Udara of Lakstars A managed to grab 2 wickets each.

Upon batting, Nilan 23(20) and Nadisha 13(17) managed to kickstart the innings but failed to carry the innings to a victory as the batsmen got out in regular intervals for low scores. Despite a short cameo by Thushitha 29(30) Lakstars A managed to score only 119 runs at the end of 19 overs while losing 10 wickets.

Captain Gunasekaran of Quincy Spartan Warriors had a magical spell of 4 overs and conceded 23 runs and managed to add 4 wickets to his account, paving the way for their victory against Lakstars A. Batsman Parthiban was selected as player-of-the-match for his batting performance.


Contributed by Deepak Radhakrishnan, tournament director


More news